Working with Blocks

Working with Blocks

The word "block" like "node" is Drupal lingo. If node is another way to say "page" or "content", block in Drupal refers to "blocks" of content within a section or region. Your site is made up of many different sections. You have sections for your header, menus, footer and content. Most gingerfeet themes have left and right sidebar sections that contain elements like secondary menus and images or content that make the donate page easy to find.

All blocks in Drupal can be enabled or disabled, and reordered and moved within the same region or into other ones. Limits associated with moving blocks are usually due to the content more than anything else.

Enabling a Block

You can easily enable blocks that you want visible on your website.

  1. From the Administration Menu, choose: Site Building → Blocks → List → your theme name (usually something like Alisa, Benji or Carla).
  2. You'll see a listing of all your regions and the blocks listed within them.
  3. Scroll down to the Disabled section, find the block you want to enable.
  4. Select the region where you want the block to reside from the Region drop-down.
  5. Drupal will enable the block and move it to the appropriate list.
  6. Click the Save button to save your changes.

Disabling a Block

You can easily disable blocks that you do not want visible on your website.

  1. From the Administration Menu, choose: Site Building → Blocks → List → your theme name (usually something like Alisa, Benji or Carla).
  2. You'll see a listing of all your regions and the blocks listed within them.
  3. Scroll to the block you want to disable.
  4. Select from the Region drop-down.
  5. Drupal will disable the block and move it to the Disabled section at the bottom of the page.
  6. Click the Save button to save your changes.

Reordering Content Blocks Within the Same Region

Move a content block above or below another in the same region.

  1. From the Administration Menu, choose: Site Building → Blocks → List → your theme name (usually something like Alisa, Benji or Carla).
  2. You'll see a listing of all your regions and the blocks listed within them.
  3. Position your mouse over the four-pointed arrow next to the block you wish to move. A screen tip pops up that reads "Drag to re-order".
  4. Left-click and drag the content to the desired position.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Save Blocks button.

Reorder Content in Block with Drag & Drop

Moving a Block to Another Region

Although you can click and drag blocks to another region in the same manner as above, it is sometimes easier to position a block in another region by choosing it from the Region dropdown field to the right of the content blocks.

  1. Follow Steps 1-2 above.
  2. From the Region dropdown field to the right of the content, choose the desired block.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Save Blocks button.

Reorder Content in Block with Drag & Drop