Site Administration: Nodes & Administration Menu

Site Administration: Nodes & Administration Menu

What is a Node?

Occasionally within Drupal you will see the term “node.” While Frankenstein may have nodes on the sides of his neck, this is not how Drupal defines them.

In Drupal, nodes are basically the bits and pieces of information contained on your website. Each piece of information is associated with a type of content such as a Page, Story, Blog Entry, Forum, or Poll—to name a few—with Page being the most common. If you hear the word “node,” don't be afraid. Just think “piece of information” and know that each time you create a Page or Blog Entry or Poll, you create a node.

The Administration Menu

Much of the administration of your website will be done through the Administration Menu. This menu is where you will go to add new pages, new users, delete menu items, and handle general maintenance/configuration tasks.

Administration Menu

The Administration Menu is available whenever you login to your website. To access the Administration Menu:

  1. Login to your account. The Administration Menu now appears at the top of your page.
  2. Review the Administration Menu Categories. Common activities (like edit content, create new pages, add items to your navigation menu, view lists of the content on your site) are in the drop-down menus under Content Management and Site Building.
  3. Place your cursor on a Drop-Down Menu Category to see what is listed in that category. Depending on the menu, more options may open to the right as you mouse down over the list.
  4. Select an item by moving your mouse onto your choice and clicking with the left mouse button.

View a List of All Your Content

You can view a complete list of items on your site from the List page.

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your page, select Content Management → Content → List.
  2. The page opens with a list of all your site content. From here you can select items to edit or unpublish, and locate items you misplaced.

A List of Drupal Content

Note: There is also a Content Management Filter that allows you to filter your content in many different ways that we have found to be quite useful. To access it, go to Content Management → Content Management Filter.

Finding a Lost Page or Other Item

If you think you've lost a page, node, or item, you can find it by opening the Content Management Filter (mentioned above).

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your page, select Content Management → Content Management Filter. The page opens with a list of all your site content and several ways to filter, including status (published or not published), node type (page, story, blog, etc.) page title and creation date. You can also sort your pages by title, node type, author, etc., if you wish. This will help make it much easier to find a particular page. If the item you are looking for does not appear using the filter, it has most likely been deleted.

Content Management Filter

Site Administration: Drupal Nodes

Site Administration: Drupal Nodes

Remove a Page or Node

There are two ways to remove a page from view. You can either unpublish a page or node so that it is archived for future use, or delete a page or node for permanent removal.


IMPORTANT!

Always disable items first! Only delete when you are certain you want to delete.


Unpublish (disable) a Page or Node

Unpublished pages or nodes are not deleted. They are just not available for public view. This means you can temporarily remove pages or nodes without the need to delete and then enable them if you'd like to add them back.

To unpublish a Page or Node:

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Content Management → Content → List. The page now shows a list of all your site content. Next to each page or node, there is a checkbox under the Title heading
  2. Click the checkbox next to the page or node you wish to unpublish. Directly above your site content is an Update options drop-down menu.
  3. From the drop-down menu, choose Unpublish.
  4. Click the Update button to save your changes. This will temporarily disable your page or node.

Publish or Unpublish a Page

Delete a Page or Node

To delete a Page or Node:

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Content Management → Content → List.
  2. The page now shows a list of all your site content. Next to each page or node, there is a checkbox under the Title heading.
  3. Click the checkbox next to the page or node you wish to unpublish.
  4. Directly above your site content is an Update options drop-down menu.
  5. From the drop-down menu, choose Delete.
  6. Click the Update button.
  7. When requested to confirm deletion, click the Delete button again.
  8. The page or node has now been deleted.
  9. Verify that the page has been removed from the website.

IMPORTANT!

This action will permanently delete the Page or Node. You cannot recover deleted work.


Change the Site Design (Default Theme)

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Site Building → Themes → List.
  2. The page now displays a list of all available themes with thumbnails.

    There are six columns labeled: Screenshot, Name, Version, Enabled, Default, and Operations.

  3. In the Enabled column:
    1. Uncheck the check box for your current theme.
    2. Check the check box for the new theme you want to use.
  4. In the Default column:
    1. Click the radio button to select the new theme as your default theme.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page.
  6. Click the Save Configuration button to save your changes.

Note: Depending on your theme configuration, some elements such as certain blocks may not be enabled and your menu areas may differ from the new theme. This is usually rectified by ordering site blocks to either your liking or that of the new theme. Please see Section 8, Working with Blocks.